Which Cover Do You Like?

Sean and I recently used 99 Designs to host a cover contest for our forthcoming Dark Crossings collection, which gathers Volumes 1, 2, and 3 and includes 18 stories and authors’ notes.

I had a specific idea in mind which I didn’t think I could do a good job at representing, so we started a contest with some loose guidelines of what we wanted. Chief among the guidelines was that the cover had to have a street sign of some sort (though we would accept non sign-related covers if one was more awesome).

We had 60 entries total, and a lot of them were damned good. We could pick as many finalists as we wanted, but didn’t want to leave three artists hanging and waiting around for our decision when they could be out getting more work, so we forced ourselves to narrow it down to just three designs.

I can honestly say that I LOVE all three of these covers for different reasons.

And I’d be proud to see any one of them on my book shelf. Yes, there will be a print version.

So, which cover do YOU think would look best? 

Leave a comment below and let us know which cover you like most. We’ll take your input, along with our own, and that of a few trusted friends and authors and select the winner in 2 days.

NUMBER 1 – Signpost

DC-Cover-contest-signpost-600

NUMBER 2 – Crow on sign

Dark Crossings Cover Contest 2 crow

NUMBER 3 – Crow and moon
DC-Cover-contest-Crow-2-600wide

46 responses to Which Cover Do You Like?

  1. Sonja Rowland

    Wow! Three great options to choose from. If I had to choose just one, I’d go with…Number 3.

  2. Carolann Bermingham

    All three are amazing but for me number 3 really stands out….it’s like a sneak peek of whats inside, looking forward to reading the collection, keep up the great work guys!

  3. Trish McCallan

    #2 for me, it’s fresher, has more of an eerie/weird vibe and the colors would pop in thumbnail on the distributors websites. There are so many covers with dark backgrounds, the yellow/orange would really stand out when readers are scrolling through the websites.

    • DavidWwright Post Author

      I love all three, but that color, so not in our usual palette, really grabs me.

  4. ardenrrArdenrr

    I like the simplicity of #1. I would pick up that book at a bookstore to see what it’s about!

  5. kathystevensaustin

    #2….it’s like it just zaps itself out at ya! The colors jump out and I’d positively grab it off the shelf if I passed by.

  6. Blaine Moore

    I really like the raven with the moon in #3 but don’t really care for the signposts themselves in #2 or #3 so I think #1 would get my vote…#1 followed closely by #3 with #2 way behind. But, all 3 are pretty damn awesome so you won’t go wrong no matter which of the 3 you choose.

  7. archercaldwell

    My vote goes for number 3, but I would agree with many of those before me in complementing all three of the artists contributing to the contest. I don’t think you can go wrong with any of these.

  8. Rose Koachway

    Definitely Number 3. It got me hooked immediately. Some people here are commenting on the simplicity of #1 or the raven and the colors of #2, but your Dark Crossings short stories are not simple or colorful to me. They are DARK and twisty with WTF endings. I agree with Jay and Carolann’s comments.

  9. LloydW

    #1 is my fave. The crow in 2 & 3 smacks of a “King”-sized effort to shout to the uninitiated “This is horror!” The title and the sign speak that in volumes, no crow necessary.

  10. Milo

    #1 is great. The others are a bit cheesy (too ‘on the nose’?), whereas #1 is more mysterious and fits with your other covers better

Leave a Reply

